2020 Dwayne McDuffie Award For Diversity In Comics Nominations Open

Nominations for the 2020 Dwayne McDuffie Award For Diversity In Comics are now open. The award honors the “commitment to excellence and inclusion, both on the page as well as behind the scenes,” in honor of the late comic book and animation writer/editor/producer Dwayne McDuffie.

In the announcement, McDuffie’s widow, Charlotte (Fullerton) McDuffie said:

“Given our initial COVID delay this Spring and now the current timing, we’ve done a lot of soul-searching about launching a ‘pop culture’ contest amidst such serious civil unrest– whether it would seem frivolous at best, opportunistic at worst.”

“We decided that Dwayne would have been resoundingly, unquestionably on the side of having this inclusive award in his name not only be continued uninterrupted despite all the events so far in 2020, but that it be announced right now, during this impressive worldwide demand for long-overdue change.”

“We as a society, as human beings, as beings who are all human, desperately need more diverse voices and content in our collective media. We have always needed this. If not now, when? Dwayne used to say, ‘If you can see it, you can be it.’ Representation matters. ‘Don’t start none, won’t be none.’ (‘None’ here meaning REPRESENTATION IN THE MEDIA!) I’m calling on all diverse creators to submit their work. Please. The world needs your voices. ‘From invisible to inevitable.’”

Previous winners include Ivy Noelle Weir and Christina “Steenz” Stewart’s Archival Quality (Oni Press), Jamar Nicholas’s Leon: Protector of the Underground (Kids Love Comics), Ezra Clayton Daniels’ Upgrade Soul, G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona’s Ms. Marvel (Marvel Comics), and Nilah Magruder’s M.F.K.

This year’s judges include writer/artist Colleen Doran, writer Marv Wolfman, writer/artist Jamal Igle, writer/editor Joe Illidge, journalist Heidi MacDonald, writer/producer Kevin Rubio, writer/producer Geoffrey Thorne, writer Will J. Watkins, and writer Matt Wayne.

Leave a Reply