Joker Sets Golden Globes Record With Record Shattering Two Wins

Joker has set an unprecedented world record for a comic book based movie by winning two Golden Globes. Joaquin Phoenix earned one Golden Globe for Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture — Drama. This is the second time an actor won a Golden Globe for portraying the Joker as Heath Ledger won for The Dark Knight in 2009.

Additionally, composer Hildur Gudnadóttir won for Best Original Score — Motion Picture. Gudnadóttir’s win is also notable as it’s the first Golden Globes solo win for a female composer.

Joker went into the night with four nominations, the most for a comic book based movie since Dick Tracy in 1990.

Joker stars Joaquin Phoenix as the titular character, Robert De Niro, Zazie Beetz, and Frances Conroy. Directed by Todd Phillips, the R-rated movie released October 4.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s