Here’s The 2019 Harvey Award Winners

The 2019 Harvey Awards took place last week at New York Comic Con and this year’s winners are as follows:

Book of the Year: Hey Kiddo, by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Graphix)

Digital Book of the Year: Check Please, by Ngozi Ukazu

Best Children’s or Young Adult Book: Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me, by Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell (First Second)

Best Manga: My Hero Academia, by Kohei Horikoshi (Viz)

Best European Book: Waves, by Ingrid Chabbert and Carole Maurel (Archaia)

Best Comics Adaptation: Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, by Columbia Pictures and Sony Pictures Animation, based on Spider-Man (Marvel Comics)

Additionally, seven creators were inducted into the Hall of Fame.

  • Hellboy creator Mike Mignola
  • Fun Home and Dykes to Watch Out For cartoonist Alison Bechdel
  • A group of five former Mad Magazine contributers:
    • Will Elder
    • Jack Davis
    • John Severin
    • Marie Severin
    • Ben Oda

The Comics Industry Pioneer award was presented to Comic Buyer’s Guide editor Maggie Thompson.

Leave a Reply