2019 Russ Manning Awards Nominees Announced

The Russ Manning Award is an American award presented to a comic book artist whose first professional work appeared within the previous two years. It was named after comic book artist Russ Manning. who created Magnus, Robot Fighter and illustrated such newspaper comic strips as Tarzan and Star Wars.

This year’s nominees are:

lorena alvarez manning nominee hicotea

Lorena Alvarezwriter/artist of Hicotea and Nightlights (Nobrow)

ellenn t crenshaw manning nominee

Ellen T. Crenshaw, artist of Kiss Number 8 (First Second)

MK jim manning nominee

M. J. Kimartist of Faith: Dreamside (Valiant)

sumit kumar manning nominee

Sumit Kumar, artist of These Savage Shores (Vault Comics) and Ruin of Thieves (Action Lab)

kieran mckeown manning nominee

Kieran McKeown, artist of Halo: Lone Wolf (Dark Horse)

The nominees were chosen by a panel consisting of board and committee members of Comic-Con International and a San Diego comics retailer. Previous winners include Dave Stevens, Scott McCloud, Art Adams, Jeff Smith, Gene Ha, Alexander Maleev, Eleanor Davis, and Marian Churchland.

The winner will be announced during The Eisner Awards ceremony on Friday, July 19th.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s